Golden Gallery – The Tricentenary Concert [VOD]


Golden Gallery | The Tricentenary Concert

In 2018, the ‘‘Golden Gallery’’ of the Central Bank of France, and more precisely its renovation in the style of the 18th century by the Count of Toulouse, celebrated its tricentenary. Like the Hall of Mirrors at the Château de Versailles, it counts among the most lavish ceremonial galleries of France : it was in this glorious setting that several scenes of the movie Marie-Antoinette, by Sofia Coppola, were shot.

On this occasion, the ensemble ‘‘Concert de la Loge’’ and its musical director Julien Chauvin drew upon this incredible setting, its paintings and its sculptures but also its history, and brought together various pieces from the baroque anc classical repertoire : Lully, Rameau, Couperin, Boccherini, Charpentier, Vivaldi, Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Haendel… Thanks to an elaborate scenography and to a smart lighting design, the program is also a journey through the mysteries of the visual works displayed in the gallery : for instance the allegories of the young Louis XIV at the beginning of his reign, the story of Henry IV… all of which is explained at length in a gorgeous booklet written by art specialists.

With the exceptional participation of the Quatuor Cambini-Paris, soprano Jodie Devos, theorbist Thomas Dunford, harpsichordist Justin Taylor, cellist Atsushi Sakai


Golden Gallery | The Tricentenary Concert [VOD]

Jean-Baptiste Lully : Le Bourgeois gentilhomme – « Marche pour la cérémonie des Turcs »
Joseph Haydn : Symphonie Le Matin (“Morning”), Hob. I:6 – Adagio and Allegro
Georg Friedrich Haendel : Semele – « Come, Zephyrs, come » | Jodie Devos (soprano)
François Couperin : Les Barricades mystérieuses
François Couperin : Tic Toc Choc | Justin Taylor (harpsichord)
Félicien David : Quartet #1 in F minor – Allegretto | Quatuor Cambini-Paris
Marin Marais : Les Voix humaines | Thomas Dunford (luth)
Improvisation in the style of bunraku (Japanese puppet theatre) | Atsushi Sakaï (cello)
Jean-Philippe Rameau : Les Indes galantes – « Danse du grand calumet de la paix » | Justin Taylor (harpsichord)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Quartet in Bb minor, K. 458 – « La chasse » (“The hunt”), Allegro | Quatuor Cambini-Paris
Jean-Baptiste Prin : Fanfare de Chasse
Joseph Haydn : Symphonie Le Soir (“Evening”), Hob. I:8 – Minuetto
Georg Friedrich Haendel : Trionfo del tempo e del disinganno, HWV46a – « Un pensiero nemico di pace »
Jodie Devos (soprano)
Luigi Boccherini : Stabat Mater, G 532a – « Virgo virginum praeclara » | Jodie Devos (soprano)
Antonio Vivaldi : Il Gardellino, RV 428 – Allegro
Antonio Vivaldi : Tempesta di Mare, RV 433 – Allegro
Antonio Vivaldi : La Notte, RV 439 – « Il Sonno, fantasmi » | Tami Krausz (traverso)
Georg Friedrich Haendel : Giulio Cesare in Egitto – « Da Tempeste » | Jodie Devos (soprano)
Marc-Antoine Charpentier : Te Deum, H. 146 – Prélude
Jean-Baptiste Lully : Le Bourgeois gentilhomme – « Marche pour la cérémonie des Turcs »

Le Concert de la Loge
Quatuor Cambini-Paris

Violin and musical direction : Julien Chauvin
Soprano : Jodie Devos
Harpsichord : Justin Taylor
Luth-theorbo : Thomas Dunford
Cello : Atsushi Sakai
Traverso : Tami Krausz